The 2020 golden boy award has seen many young professional footballers top their games. The yearly award was brought to football by Italian outlet Tuttosport in the year 2003. Players that are to be shortlisted must be at of 21 and must play in the major league.

Golden boy Award

Athletico Madrid player Joao Felix took the award last year. He went ahead of Jadon Sancho to obtain the award. Ajax Sergio Dest and Giovanni Reyna were nominated by Tuttosport for the shortlist in the award. The 19-year-old Dest was given the best ajax talent of the year. He has featured in 35 senior matches scoring two goals with six assist.

This year’s award has seen 23 young stars from the English premier league. With Borussia Dortmund young star, Jadon Sancho and Erling Haaland. Bayern Munich defender, Alfonso Davies, and the two other players are likely to obtain the award.

The red devil’s young blood has enjoyed his time in the team as he has gotten a total of 12 goals in the team so far. While Hudson-odoi has scored three goals and made five assists, this has made him known to Chelsea’s heads.

Arsenal boy Martinelli has impressed his team during his debut campaign in England with a total of 10 goals for arsenal.

Ansu fati of Barcelona has also gotten a spot in the list alongside William Saliba who was sent on loan to Saint-Etienne.

Only four players have gotten to win the golden boy award while playing in the premier league. Wayne Rooney was the first to win the award in 2004 followed by Anderson in 2008. Mario Balotelli took it in 2010 and Raheem sterling received it in 2014.

This year’s golden-boy award has received a lot of premier league young blood in the list.

Premier League players that were shortlisted for the Golden Boy Award

  • Oliver Skipp (Tottenham)
  • Michael Obafemi (Southampton)
  • Ryan sessegnon (Tottenham)
  • Phil Foden (Man City)
  • Sepp Van Den Berg (Liverpool)
  • Billy Gilmour (Chelsea)
  • Morgan Gibbs White (wolves)
  • Max Aaron (Norwich)
  • Tino Anjorin (Chelsea)
  • Curtis Jones (Liverpool)
  • Gabriel martinelli (arsenal)
  • Trae Coyle (arsenal)
  • Ethan Ampadu (Chelsea)
  • Bukayo Saka (arsenal)
  • Hudson Odoi (Chelsea)
  • Mason Greenwood (Man united)
  • Yasser Larouci (Liverpool)
  • James Gardner (Man united)
  • Eric Garcia (Man city)
  • Angel Gomes (Man united)
  • Claudio Gomes (Man city)
Facebook Comments
If you have a story you want to tell, send it to 247SportsGist via


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here